Board Members

Board Members


Lingshan Song, Chair

Lingshan is the assistant director of Mississippi College Writing Center. She also teaches freshmen composition courses and the tutor training course at MC. Her research interests include writing center theory and practice, ESL tutoring, and cultural studies. Her ongoing research projects involve advocating for writing centers in China and supporting writing center establishment there. Lingshan also serves as the At-Large Member on International Writing Centers Association (IWCA) board, Outreach Coordinator on the Southeastern Writing Center Association (SWCA) board, TESOL Representative for the Association of Christians in Writing Centers (ACWC), and Oversea Representative for the Writing Center Association of China (WCAC).


Josh Green, Vice-Chair

Josh is the Director of the Northwest MS Community College-DeSoto Writing Center, where he also teaches freshman composition, composition companion, and peer tutor training courses. Josh has been a member of MSWCA since 2017. His research interests include theoretical frameworks in education and community-engagement pedagogies. In addition, he is actively involved in the University of Mississippi Writing Project (UMWP) and enjoys working with student writers across the state. Josh has a deep fascination with oral histories of the early Laurel Canyon music scene.

(photo by Russ Houston / © Mississippi State University)

Kayleigh Few, Secretary

Kayleigh is the Director of the Mississippi State University Writing Center, where she also teaches freshman composition, professional writing, and tutor training courses. Kayleigh has been a member of MSWCA since 2014 and is also an active member of the Southeastern Writing Center Association as well as the International Writing Center Association. Her research interests include tutor professional identity development and engaged pedagogies.


Kathi Griffin, Financial Manager

Kathi is a founding member of MSWCA and has been actively involved in state and regional conversations about writing and writing centers since she arrived in Mississippi in 1998. She has served on the board of the Southeastern Writing Center Association, as well as the Midwest Writing Center Association (2008-2010), and has published on writing center work and presented at conferences, often with her peer and graduate tutors. Currently, she is director of the Richard Wright Center at Jackson State University. As a native Californian, she “talks funny” and likes to take long walks (they call it hiking in California).


Rachel Johnson, 2020/2021 Conference Chair and Web Manager

Rachel is the director of the Oxford Campus Writing Center at the University of Mississippi and has been a member of MSWCA since 2014. Her research interests include transfer students and writing instruction, technology in writing center practice, tutor professional development, and building effective community and campus relationships. Rachel is a lifelong Trekkie and has a serious nostalgia for alien movies from the 1980s.


Tatiana Glushko, At-Large Member

Tatiana was interested in writing centers even before she knew they existed–when even the idea of teaching academic writing in her native Russia was novel. Living in Jackson since 2006, she has been a tutor and now coordinator in the Richard Wright Center for Writing, Rhetoric, and Research at Jackson State University. Her fascination with writing centers does not detract from her love of reading, traveling, experimenting in the kitchen and the garden, and watching movies set in Nordic landscapes.

liz egan

Liz Egan, Mississippi Representative to the Southeastern Writing Center Association (SWCA)

Liz is Director of the Writing Center and Writing Instructor at Millsaps College in Jackson, MS. Formerly Liz was assistant director of the writing center at George Mason University, where she earned an MFA in fiction writing. Liz is co-editor of Gazing Grain Press, an inclusive feminist chapbook press. She’s also kind of obsessed with distance running and frozen yogurt, and swears the two are not related.

Elaine Everett, Professional Tutor Representative

Regina M. Young, Graduate Student Representative

Jori Perrin, Undergraduate Student Representative